The growing number of certifications documented on this site are organized into the following major groupings:



The independent source of educational information for all the major IT certifications.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
> Home > Contact > About > FAQ > Certificates

GCFW - GIAC Certified Firewall Analyst


The GCFW is a security certification that demonstrates that the owner has the abilities to perform activities to implement and maintain firewalls and other network security devices for an organization.

It is maintained by the SANS Institute (SysAdmin, Audit, Network, Security).


The GCFW is a hands-on certification that covers many of the concepts of securing the perimeter of an organization. This includes concepts such as Intrusion Detection, Packet Filtering, and central logging.

The SANS Institute offers a course for preparing for this certification. The course is called GIAC Certified Firewall Analyst and is listed as SEC-502.

The course can be taken through self-study or via a SANS conference or course.

Three separate levels are available through the GIAC certification tree (of which GCFW is part). By completing this certification, the individual is at the Silver level of certification.

The Gold level of certification requires the candidate to write a detailed technical report/white paper. If the paper is accepted, they will be certified as Gold level.

The Platinum level is the highest certification available and requires multiple Silver certifications. To obtain this certification, extensive testing, research and assignments are required.

Certification Criteria:

To be considered certified, the following criteria must be satisfied:

  1. The candidate must pay an examination fee. This fee can be added onto a self-study course, a conference course or paid by itself (called a challenge certificate);
  2. The candidate must pass two online exams, both multiple choice with time limits.
This certification must be renewed every four years.


GCFW Information