The growing number of certifications documented on this site are organized into the following major groupings:



The independent source of educational information for all the major IT certifications.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
> Home > Contact > About > FAQ > Certificates

GCSC - GIAC Certified Security Consultant


The GCSC is a security management certification that demonstrates that the owner has the knowledge and skills to manage projects in a security consulting practice.

It is maintained by the SANS Institute (SysAdmin, Audit, Network, Security).


The GCSC is a management certification that covers selling security services, creating security policies and other concepts needed to make a security practice successful. This includes concepts such as HIPAA, Client security awareness and legal issues among others.

The SANS Institute offers a course for preparing for this certification. The course is called Security Consultant and is listed as MGT-513.

The course can be taken through a SANS conference or course or through self-study.

Three separate levels are available through the GIAC certification tree (of which GCSC is part). By completing this certification, the individual is at the Silver level of certification.

The Gold level of certification requires the candidate to write a detailed technical report/white paper. If the paper is accepted, they will be certified as Gold level.

The Platinum level is the highest certification available and requires multiple Silver certifications. To obtain this certification, extensive testing, research and assignments are required.

Certification Criteria:

To be considered certified, the following criteria must be satisfied:

  1. The candidate must pay an examination fee. This fee can be added onto a conference course or paid by itself (called a challenge certificate);
  2. The candidate must pass two online exams, both multiple choice with time limits.
This certification must be renewed every four years.


GCSC Information