The growing number of certifications documented on this site are organized into the following major groupings:



The independent source of educational information for all the major IT certifications.

Copyright © 2007
All rights reserved. Certification.Info
> Home > Contact > About > FAQ > Certificates

G7799 - GIAC Certified ISO-17799


The GSAE is a security and auditing certification that demonstrates that the owner has the ability to implement the ISO-17799 standard with understanding of its best practices.

It is maintained by the SANS Institute (SysAdmin, Audit, Network, Security).


The G7799 is a security and auditing certification that covers the effective implementation of the ISO-17799 standard. This includes concepts such as what ISO-17799 is and the methodology.

The SANS Institute offers a course for preparing for this certification. The course is called SANS 17799 Security & Audit Framework and is listed as AUD-411.

The course can be taken through a SANS conference or course and through self-study.

Three separate levels are available through the GIAC certification tree (of which G7799 is part). By completing this certification, the individual is at the Silver level of certification.

The Gold level of certification requires the candidate to write a detailed technical report/white paper. If the paper is accepted, they will be certified as Gold level.

The Platinum level is the highest certification available and requires multiple Silver certifications. To obtain this certification, extensive testing, research and assignments are required.

Certification Criteria:

To be considered certified, the following criteria must be satisfied:

  1. The candidate must pay an examination fee. This fee can be added onto a conference course or paid by itself (called a challenge certificate);
  2. The candidate must pass two online exams, both multiple choice with time limits.
This certification must be renewed every four years.